Denise Day Spencer

December 9, 2009

It’s all in the timing

Filed under: Home Front — denisedayspencer @ 7:39 pm

I think it must be a guy thing. Impeccable timing, that is. Case in point:

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving Day. Well, except for the fact that Michael was beginning to get sick from a gallbladder episode. My daughter and daughter-in-law both helped with the cooking. Noel made a zesty potato casserole embellished with red peppers. Taylor cooked cranberry pomegranate sauce, butternut squash soup and apple pie cookies. All that was left for me was the turkey, dressing, green bean casserole and rolls.

The only downside was that lots of cooking meant lots of dirty dishes. There were the plates and the silverware. The dessert plates. And all of those pots and pans. Especially all of those pots and pans.

Usually Michael is the chief dishwasher around here. But as I said, he was feeling puny, so he took to the couch right after the meal. Noel and Ryan had to leave soon after eating because they were hosting 13 dormitory students in their home for the evening. They’d be having plenty of their own dirty dishes to wash. Taylor deserved the rest of the day off, since she’d done as much cooking as I had. So I rolled up my sleeves and went to work.

It took me three rounds of soapy water to get the job done. As I was literally washing the last item, Clay came around the corner and into the kitchen. “Oh,” he said. “I was supposed to do that.”

“What are you talking about?” I asked.

“Dad told me to wash the dishes,” he explained.

This was news to me. “So…why didn’t you?” (I just had to ask.)

“I was going to do it later,” he said.

“Well,” I laughed, brandishing my dishrag, “Your timing is perfect!”

Maybe it was a conspiracy thing. Michael: “OK, Son, here’s how it’s done. Wait until you hear all sounds of dishwashing subside and then tell Mom you were going to do the dishes. You’ll get all the points for a helpful attitude without any of the work!”

Or maybe it was simply a Clay thing. Whatever it was, it worked!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

