Denise Day Spencer

December 10, 2008

Random ramblings

Filed under: Random ramblings — denisedayspencer @ 7:47 pm

We’ve been leaving the TV on for our dog Maisie when she’s in the crate while we go to work. Two days in a row when I’ve come home to walk her I’ve caught her watching Jerry Springer. Now I’m afraid she’s going to try to get on the show. Possible topics for which she could qualify: “I’ve got a secret sexy crush on the Basset Hound next door,” “Mixed breed love: My mother was a Scottie, my father was a Cairn,” and “Adoption scam revealed: I was sold for $150 cash.” Thankfully, Michael now has Maisie watching Animal Planet instead. Maybe we’ve rescued her before it’s too late.

Clay and his fiance, Taylor, volunteered to put up the Christmas tree over Thanksgiving weekend. And they did exactly that. So for the next week our living room was adorned with a bare fake evergreen tree in the corner. This past weekend I finally added ornaments after Michael said he’d rather I decorate the tree than cook supper. (Man. He was really serious about this tree!) Yesterday I at last exchanged the autumn leaves on the front door wreath with red bows and holly sprigs. There’s still much left in the shed and in the Christmas trunk that needs to be put out. I don’t like this strategy of decorating by degrees, but this year it’s simply working out that way. I’m glad there are four weeks of Advent and then 12 days of Christmas. At this rate, I’m going to need every last one of them.

And on a more serious note, I leave you with the quote of the day–Teresa Wheeler on distractions during prayer: “I certainly hope God pays more attention to our prayers than we do.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

