Denise Day Spencer

October 15, 2008

How my brain works

Filed under: Random ramblings — denisedayspencer @ 7:37 pm

I have a new friend, and he recently turned 50. He said that he became a bit forgetful for a couple of days, but he’s over that now. Must be nice. Here’s how being over 50 is working for me:

Noel made these really scrumptious pumpkin muffins yesterday–from a recipe she adapted into her own unique creation. Ryan claimed, “This is the best thing you’ve ever cooked!” I’m sure he developed a taste for all things pumpkin when he was a lad in Ashville, Ohio and went to the Circleville Pumpkin Show.

Anyway, last evening Noel brought us five of these delectable treats tucked into a ziplock bag. I decided right then and there that I would have one for this morning’s breakfast. Oh, how good that pumpkin muffin would be…warmed in the microwave…soaked in melted butter…savored with a cup of coffee. I could hardly wait until breakfast; it would be quite a variation from my usual Bran Flakes.

So today I rose at 5:00 and went to the pool for my three-days-a-week morning swim. When I returned and dressed, I went into the kitchen. “Let’s see,” thought I. “Yesterday I had cereal. I think today I’ll have wheat toast.” I dropped two pieces of bread into the toaster and got out the margarine. “Oh!” I said to myself. “You know what would be tasty on the toast? Apple butter!”

While I munched on the apply-buttery toast, the apple butter reminded me of a jar of pumpkin butter that Noel and Ryan gave us when they lived in Ashville enjoying all things pumpkin. The memory of pumpkin butter made me think of the Pumpkin Show, where I’m told you can find every kind of pumpkinny food imaginable–pumpkin cookies, pumpkin cheesecake and…pumpkin muffins.

Oh, yeah.

As I popped the last bite of apple butter toast into my mouth, I suddenly remembered that I was supposed to have enjoyed my delightful pumpkin muffin for breakfast. And I knew I’d probably see Noel at lunch, and she’d want to know if I liked the muffins, and I couldn’t bear to tell her that I’m so pitiful I forgot to eat one. So I broke off a tiny piece from the top of one muffin and tasted it. Ummmm. Ryan may be right.

I didn’t see Noel at lunch, but there she was in the school dining hall at suppertime. “Great muffins, Hon!” I praised her. “Oh,” she replied, obviously pleased. “Did you like them?” Yes, I liked them. Enough to keep that poor, little maimed muffin on my brain just long enough to drive the two blocks to our house, open the ziplock bag, and devour it.

There are still three muffins left. I’m going to have one for breakfast tomorrow…warmed in the microwave…soaked in melted butter…savored with a cup of coffee. At least that’s my plan–if I can remember how to get to the kitchen.

2 Comments »

  1. […] some funny stuff. Here you go with a good one. If you use it in your sermon, send us a few bucks. “How My Brain Works.” Posted by: TommyMertonHead @ 9:49 pm | Trackback | […]

    Pingback by The Boar’s Head Tavern » How my wife’s brain works — October 15, 2008 @ 7:49 pm | Reply

  2. Problem is, I’m about 1.5 decades away from 50, and I know that feeling too well already.

    Comment by The Scylding — October 16, 2008 @ 9:45 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

