Denise Day Spencer

September 4, 2008

Christmas music/drama program: He Came For Us All

Filed under: Creative Ministries — denisedayspencer @ 7:05 pm

I’d like to post the Christmas program we did at our school last year. Like the one I put up a year ago, this one is also a very simple drama with some suggested songs and plenty of places for you to plug in whatever music you like. If you’d like to use it, be my guest, free of charge. All I ask is that you give me credit for the writing. Enjoy!

HE CAME FOR US ALL

By Denise Day Spencer

MUSIC    One or more Christmas songs

DRAMA    (Lights out. ANGEL enters in blackout. Suggested costume: white
pants, white shirt, gold or silver sash)

ANGEL:    (opening cupped hands to reveal a glowing light) “And God said, ‘Let
there be light,’ and there was light. And God saw that the light . . .
(lights up) was good! (1)

I know. I was there. We angels watched as the Father, Creator, made
light and darkness, day and night. But Someone else was there, too.
“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the
Word was God.” (2) That’s talking about Jesus, the Son of God. “All
things were made through Him.” (3)

But He didn’t just make the light; He is the light! “In Him was life, and
the life was the light of men.” (4)

We watched as your world–and the whole universe–was created.
We sang for joy! But have you ever wondered what was the point
of it all? Why did God make redwood trees and oceans and fireflies
. . . and people? Especially people, when He knew they would soon
turn against Him and go their own way.

You see, with God things don’t just happen. Everything in history is
heading somewhere. The answer is in the Word, the Light. The
answer is Jesus. Thousands of years after creation, a tiny baby
would be born in a town called “Bethlehem.” God would do something
new . . . and yet not new. From before the beginning of time, God the
Father planned to send His only Son to redeem mankind.

We sang at creation, and we sang at His birth. Jesus. The One who
was truly of the Father’s love begotten. (music begins for “Of the
Father’s Love Begotten” as ANGEL exits)

MUSIC    “Of the Father’s Love Begotten”

One or more other Christmas songs

DRAMA    (Lights on SHEPHERD, dressed as a modern-day farmer)

SHEPHERD:     We, the actors, are a song. A Christmas carol! You’ve already met
verse one; that was the angel. And I’m verse two! You might even say
it’s a bit of a mystery. You have to listen closely if you want to see how
it turns out.

Me, I’m a shepherd. But you may have already figured that out. I
represent something . . . two things, really. For one, I’m a Jew. Our
history goes way back. King David . . . Moses . . . all the way back to
Abraham. For centuries our people have been waiting for a Messiah.
You see, we’re God’s people. But we are an occupied nation,
controlled by the Roman empire. (with feeling) Oh, how we need a
Messiah!

(brightly) But back to me! I said there were two things. I also represent
(arms outstretched to audience) the common man. I’m . . . (proudly)
average! That’s nothing to scoff at; you’re average, too! (surveying
audience closely) Most of you, anyway. I’m not rich, or smart, or
talented. All I know how to do is work hard, and that I do.

And it was to me that the angel came to say the Messiah had been
born. A Jewish Messiah for our people! A baby laid in a rough
manger, a child who would grow up like any other, who would be a
common man–like me.

If you ever doubt God’s love for you, remember–it was to me the angel
came. (music begins for “While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks” as
SHEPHERD exits)

MUSIC    “While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks”

One or more other Christmas songs

DRAMA    (Lights up on WISE MAN, dressed in a modern business suit)

WISE MAN:    Are you still listening to the song? (counting) The angel, the
shepherd, and I am verse three. You may know me as a king, and a
king I might have been. You might call me one of the “Magi,” but that’s
not a word we use every day, now is it? So let’s refer to me as a “wise
man.” There! Isn’t that easier?

Unlike the shepherd, I am wealthy. But like the shepherd, I work hard.
I’m not “old money,” the product of a dusty inheritance passed down
from generation to generation. (with energy) I got where I am today by
being clever, being in the right place at the right time, having a better
idea than the next guy, and being willing to do whatever it takes to
succeed. I’ve risen to the top quickly, and I intend to stay here. I like it
at the top. Call me smart, call me shrewd. But I like the word, “wise.”

Like the shepherd, I, too, represent some things. Wealth, as I’ve said.
And wisdom, if you will. But I am not Jewish. I’m not one of the
“chosen people.” Yet I do believe in their God. Why? Believe me, I’ve
thought about it. And He’s the only God who makes sense to me. He’s
the only God there is. Aside from all my business sense, it was my
decision to believe in Him that made me truly wise.

Are you surprised? So was I when I was chosen to go and meet this
Jewish king. “Messiah,” they called him. They said their people
needed a Savior. Well? Don’t we all?

And so He came for the rich as well as the poor, the educated along
with the dropouts, the “gifted and talented” and the just plain average.

It started with the shepherd on that first Noel. But then He came to me.
(music begins for “The First Noel” as WISE MAN exits)

MUSIC    “The First Noel”

One or more other Christmas songs

DRAMA    (Full stage lights up on STUDENT, dressed in school clothes)

STUDENT:    The song continues, and I am verse (cups hand to ear to listen to
audience response) four! That’s right. You have been listening!

Who am I? I’m (pointing to different sections of audience) you . . .
and you . . . and you! I’m a Christian, and I love Christmas. Music
and bells, gifts and candles–and of course, the Baby in the manger.

The angel, the shepherd, the wise man, they all waited for His
birth. And today I wait, not for the first coming, but for the second.
Because Jesus will return. And when He comes again, it won’t be
just a handful of people who know who He really is. Christ will
gather His believers from the ends of the earth, from every nation
and every people group.

The Bible says that we will all stand before Jesus one day. And
believe me, when you stand before Him, you won’t have to wonder
Who He is.

Have you guessed yet what Christmas carol we are? Are you ready to
put it all together? You know our song. Join us now and let’s sing it
together . . . in worship. (music begins for “Angels From the Realms
of Glory” as STUDENT exits)

MUSIC    “Angels From the Realms of Glory” transitioning after fifth verse to
“Worthy, You Are Worthy”
with
DRAMA    On first verse of “Angels . . .” the ANGEL enters from backstage and
goes to the manger where Baby lies as lights come up on manger.
ANGEL kneels, bows head until end of first verse.

On second verse of “Angels . . .” the ANGEL goes to stand behind
manger (maybe elevated on a small step) as SHEPHERD enters
down left aisle and approaches manger. SHEPHERD kneels, bows
head as ANGEL extends an arm to welcome him.

On third verse of “Angels . . .” SHEPHERD stands as WISE MAN
enters down right aisle and approaches manger. WISE MAN kneels,
bows head as SHEPHERD and ANGEL welcome him.

On fourth verse of “Angels . . .” WISE MAN stands to the other side of
manger as STUDENT enters down center aisle and goes to manger.
STUDENT kneels, bows head as ALL welcome her.

On fifth verse of “Angels . . .”:
“Tho’ an infant now we view Him,”    ACTORS look at Baby
“He will share His Father’s throne;”    ACTORS look heavenward
in different directions as
ANGEL raises one arm to
the sky
“Gather all the nations to Him;”        ACTORS extend one arm to
audience
“Every knee shall then bow down.”    ACTORS focus on manger
and kneel again

On transition to “Worthy . . .”         ACTORS stand
“Worthy, You Are Worthy”            ACTORS join in the song

The End

(1) Genesis 1:3-4a
(2) John 1:1
(3) John 1:3a
(4) John 1:4

6 Comments »

  1. […] another- more recent – Denise Spencer Christmas program. These are simply programs appropriate for many churches looking for something that allows […]

    Pingback by internetmonk.com » Blog Archive » Another Denise Spencer Christmas Program — September 15, 2008 @ 5:51 pm | Reply

  2. Thank you for everything. Very useful

    Comment by โหลดเพลงmp3 — January 19, 2010 @ 5:38 am | Reply

  3. Dear Denise,
    sorry it has taken me so long to send this note. I used your Christmas program “Small Things” for our church Christmas program this past year. Our church is a small one and the drama fit us so well. I was able to make cosutmes for the three wise men and one for Elizabeth and the Inkeeper’s wife. It went beautifully and the Christmas message was given clear and plain. Thank you for your website and the wonderful ideas you have. May God continue to bless you as you bless others. Libby Bays

    Comment by libby bays — January 25, 2010 @ 5:15 pm | Reply

  4. The best information but i like

    Comment by ดาวน์โหลดเพลงฟรี — March 7, 2010 @ 12:35 am | Reply

  5. Interesting drama Denise. I’m sure there will be many who find it useful. I enjoy all the pageantry of Christmas, and especially the music honouring the birth of our Saviour.

    And if you’ll excuse a brief “commercial:” With the arrival of fall, we begin to think of the Christmas season up ahead. If you do not have a good book on the subject of our Christmas carols, I encourage you to take a look at mine, Discovering the Songs of Christmas. In it, I discuss the history and meaning of 63 carols and Christmas hymns. The book is available through Amazon, or directly from Jebaire Publishing. (Might make a great gift too!)

    Comment by rcottrill — September 30, 2010 @ 5:42 am | Reply

  6. Thanks so much for posting this piece here — I’ll let others know about it.

    Comment by Christmas Carols — November 27, 2011 @ 9:49 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

