Denise Day Spencer

February 4, 2008

Holy Week drama: a woman at the cross

Filed under: Creative Ministries — denisedayspencer @ 8:24 pm
A TESTIMONY: A WOMAN AT THE CROSS
By Denise Day Spencer

NARRATOR: “Now from the sixth hour there was darkness over all the land until the ninth hour. And…Jesus cried with a loud voice saying…’My God, my God, why have You forsaken me?’…and Jesus cried out…and yielded up his spirit…

“There were many women there, looking on from a distance, who had followed him from Galilee, ministering to him.” *

WOMAN: (stands holding one or more long pieces of cloth) I was a follower of Jesus, but not until the very end. But you see, I had no idea it was the end. My name is unimportant. You won’t find me in your Bible, because I’m not there. But I was there–when Jesus came to town.

I had heard of him, of course, but I had never seen him until that day. The things he did and taught…I had never seen or heard anything like it before. When the time came for him to leave, I knew I had to hear more. Jesus intrigued me with his teaching. But why did he say these things? Who was this man?

Jesus had twelve men who were his disciples. But other people followed him, too, including a number of women. Does that surprise you? If you’re a guy, maybe. If you’re a woman, probably not. We ladies know that men need looking after. The women cooked for the men, washed and mended their clothes, things like that. I didn’t have much family, so it was easy for me to travel. When Jesus and his disciples left town, I went with them.

And now it’s come to this. I followed him for such a short time. I wanted to listen to him, to learn from him, to help take care of him. But everything happened so fast; it was all a blur. One day he was riding into Jerusalem like a king, being cheered by the crowd. Another day, beaten and flogged and…crucified.

The men disappeared, all except John. But we women, we stayed, huddled together near his cross. We were so used to always doing things, and suddenly there was absolutely nothing we could do but stand there…and watch him die.

What did Jesus do to deserve this? Why was he hanging there? And then he looked at me and I knew. I didn’t understand it, I couldn’t comprehend, but somehow I knew. He was there for me. Suddenly I realized that I should have been on that cross, not him. But he took my place. Why would he do that?

Did you know that when he died, even the very soldiers who crucified him said, “Truly, this was the Son of God!” The Son of God? And he died for me?

We’re getting ready to bury the body now. We don’t have time to wrap him properly because it’s almost Sabbath. But we’ll do our best. All I wanted was to help take care of him. (looking at the cloths) I guess now I can.

THE END

* Matthew 27:45-46, 50, 55

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

