Denise Day Spencer

August 30, 2007

Children’s sermon: Revelation–God shows us Himself

Filed under: Children's sermons — denisedayspencer @ 6:56 pm

Another in my series of children’s sermons based on the doctrinal summaries in the Disciple’s Study Bible.

SCRIPTURES: Psalm 19:1, Luke 2:9, Romans 15:4, John 15:26, John 14:7

OBJECT: an item from nature, a picture or figurine of an angel, a Bible, a picture of Jesus

We talked last time about God’s revealing Himself to us throughout history. I promised that today we would talk about how God reveals Himself.

If I wanted to let you know more about me, there are lots of ways I could do it. I could show you pictures of myself as a baby, as a child, as a teenager. I could tell you what kinds of music I like to listen to, or what kinds of books I like to read. I could let you talk to my best friend or my husband/wife/child, who could tell you all about me.

God has done many things to reveal Himself to people all through the Bible. (show item from nature) We can learn a lot about God just by looking at the world He made. (show figurine of angel) Many times in the Bible God sent angels to give special messages to people. (show Bible) The scriptures are God’s revelation to us about His character and His work in our world. God’s Holy Spirit lives in the spirit of each Christian, to help us know and do His will.

These are just some of the ways God has revealed Himself to us. (show picture of Jesus) But the greatest revelation of all was the gift of His Son, Jesus Christ. His own Son came to earth to show us what God is like, by His life…and by His death and resurrection.

In the Bible, God revealed Himself to different people in different ways. Because we can read the Bible today, He reveals Himself to us in all these ways. Now that’s a God worth getting to know!

1 Comment »

  1. If some one needs to be updated with latest technologies after that he must be pay a quick visit
    this website and be up to date daily.

    Comment by child's — September 24, 2014 @ 2:01 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

