Denise Day Spencer

August 4, 2007

Children’s sermon: Revelation–God’s initiative

Filed under: Children's sermons — denisedayspencer @ 9:03 pm

Another children’s sermon based on the doctrinal summaries in the Disciple’s Study Bible.

SCRIPTURE: Exodus 6:2-3

OBJECT: business card, pamphlet for a new business, etc.

Today I want us to think together about the word “revelation.” I’m not talking about the book of the Bible called “Revelation,” but about what that word means. To reveal something is to show it to someone, or to tell someone about it.

Let’s pretend for a moment that I have just started a new business here in town. I want people to know about it, don’t I? Maybe I have a store or a restaurant. I want people to come to my business so I’ll make money. But if its a brand new business, nobody will know about it unless I tell them.

I might print up business cards to hand out to people. Or I might print up pamphlets about my business. I could take out an ad in the newspaper, or do commercials on the radio.The point is that it’s my job to tell people about what I’m doing. I have to make the first move, or nobody will know about it.

That’s how it is with God’;s revelation to us about Himself. He makes the first move. We wouldn’t know about God unless He first revealed Himself to us.

Now, we can’t possibly know everything there is to know about God, can we? If we could, He wouldn’t be God! But there are many things He does want us to learn about Him…so we can know of His love for us and love Him in return.

God has revealed more and more of Himself throughout history. In Exodus chapter 6, God said to Moses, “I am the Lord. I appeared to Abraham, to Isaac and to Jacob as God Almighty, but by my name ‘the Lord’ I did not make myself known to them.” You see, God showed more of Himself to Moses than He did to Abraham.

How does God reveal Himself to us? He has many ways. We’ll talk about that next time.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

