Denise Day Spencer

June 17, 2007

Random Ramblings

Filed under: Random ramblings — denisedayspencer @ 6:19 pm

Happy Father’s Day to all you dads out there!

Michael has to go to our ministry’s evening chapel service every Sunday night at 7:00. Clay knows this. Tonight the phone rang at precisely 7:00. I answered. Without even so much as a “Hello,” the opening remarks were:

Clay: Dad’s not there, is he?

Me: No.

Clay: Well, crap. Happy Father’s Day!

Speaking of the kids, we had the pleasure of having everybody at home together a few weeks back. You parents of younger kids will be pleased to know that we still have sibling arguments at our house. Only instead of, “He stole my diary!” it’s now heated disagreements about…poetry, of all things. Some things never change–and that makes me feel oddly secure!

The day after the kids left, I wanted something special for breakfast. I knew there was a leftover sweet roll from our breakfast the day before. Oh, how good that would taste with a cup of coffee. I searched for it, but it was…gone. No problem. Noel had brought us a dessert, and I knew there was still one piece left. I opened the refrigerator, and it was…gone. So I fixed myself a couple of pieces of cinnamon toast from a loaf of bread that the horde of 20-something locusts hadn’t devoured. I’m not complaining. I’d take my family over a sweet roll any day!

My boss still uses floppy disks. A couple of weeks ago I needed to edit something for him at home because I was on vacation (except for a couple of odd jobs–like editing!) I stood in the middle of the house, floppy in hand, and realized that none of our four computers even had an A drive. So I had to go back to the office that evening to do it, and I teased him about it later. This past week one of our students found a working A drive–in our trash compound. He brought it to Michael who gave it to me and now I’m in business. Ha! I’m no slave to technology!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

