Denise Day Spencer

October 21, 2006

Random ramblings

Filed under: Random ramblings — denisedayspencer @ 3:15 pm

I love the names and titles of some of the junk e-mails I get. The latest was sent to me by some soul with the unfortunate name of “large” and the title was “getting outcomes contrasted which.” I don’t think any of Michael’s Advanced Placement English IV students could diagram that sentence. Oh, wait. It’s not a sentence.

We had one of our famous OBI “Free Mart” give-aways the other day. They had advertised that they were going to have, among other things, Halloween candy. “Yay!” I thought. “That’s great. It’ll save me having to buy candy.” So I went to the Free Mart and loaded up on all sorts of stuff. Everything except…you’ve got it. I had already picked up some full-sized Hershey bars and Reese’s Cups. I stood there and looked at those bags and bags of mini candy bars and thought, “The kids are gone now. Michael and I don’t need all of this candy!” and walked away. But the really sad part is that I didn’t even realize what I’d done until yesterday when I was standing in the Dollar General looking at Halloween candy and it hit me. (sigh) So I bought some cheapo suckers when I could have had name brand chocolate for free. Sorry, kids. Next year trick-or-treat at the home of someone who’s not senile.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

