Denise Day Spencer

February 22, 2006

Tea parties

Filed under: Personal reflections — denisedayspencer @ 1:41 am

Phillip Winn and his family have the right idea.

Even the little guy is being trained to enjoy a good tea party.

Tea is my one, true addiction. It all started when I was a little girl and my grandmother–who was also my babysitter–would set up a tea party for my sister and me. She’d bring out her little brown teapot and her cups and saucers with brown-eyed susans on them. I suppose to a little girl a tea party seemed all grown up.

I later had informal tea parties with Noel and Clay when they were small. (We used our kitty cat teapot that I’m now saving for tea parties with any future grandchildren who may come along.)

Michael and the kids make fun of me because I’ve always got a mug of tea in one hand. So many times when we are leaving to go somewhere, I run back into the house one more time shouting, “Wait! I forgot my tea!” I hardly ever spend money on myself for anything, but one year Michael gave me some Stash tea for Christmas and I found a new love. Now I don’t think anything about dropping a few dollars to get a great-quality cup of tea.

So Phillip and fam, I salute you! Too bad you guys live in Texas, or we could sip a cup together.

1 Comment »

  1. The tea ritual definitely began as my wife’s idea, though I’m now a convert. As a dedicated anglophile, how could I be other than a tea drinker?

    In fact, I’m going to go heat some water right now… 🙂

    Comment by Phillip Winn — February 24, 2006 @ 6:05 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

