Denise Day Spencer

February 14, 2006

On Valentine’s Day

Filed under: Personal reflections — denisedayspencer @ 2:05 am

Well, I’ve noticed that Michael is hosting his annual Valentine’s Day discussion of romance on his web site and the BHT. He says he’s already gotten into some trouble from his posts. (See his essay, “Romeo is Better Off Dead” on internetmonk).

I suppose I’ve become as cynical as Michael has on the topic of romance, for some of the same reasons and for a few of my own. (No, I’m not going to share those with you. This is my blog. I can say and not say whatever I want!) I’ll just agree with Michael that the gods of romance have not exactly smiled on us. But as the BHT fellows have proven in years past, everybody’s got different ideas of what defines romance, so what are we even talking about here?

Therefore, I’ll abandon talk of romance and just mention Valentine’s Day instead.

I guess I understand why Valentine’s Day prompts talk of romance, but it’s almost off my radar screen. My childhood public school experiences weren’t, as a rule, anything to write home about. But I must have really liked Valentine’s Day for some reason. Perhaps it was making that little box covered in white paper and decorated with pink and red hearts with a slit in the top to turn it into my own personal Valentine’s Day mailbox. Maybe it was knowing that every kid in the class would give me a valentine, even though I was the shy little girl who hardly ever spoke. It may have been the fact that we each got a tiny cup of vanilla ice cream with a red heart in the middle that we ate with small wooden paddles. (Did anybody else have those?) Certainly it was the fun of making valentines for parents, grandparents and teachers–all shiny red paper and glue and doilies and lace.

Whatever the reason, to this day for me Valentine’s Day isn’t a time to demand candy or roses (or diamonds–what in the heck is that about?) from my husband. Rather, it’s a fun holiday that’s, well, just for fun. I like to get those little boxes of chocolates with a picture of Snoopy or Charlie Brown on the top to give to everyone in the family around the dinnertable. Maybe homemade valentine cards, too, or funny e-cards for everyone.

So relax, all. You can argue about romance the other 364 days of the year. For now have a fun and happy Valentine’s Day!

1 Comment »

  1. Every weekend i used to pay a visit this web page, because i wish for enjoyment, as this this web site conations in fact pleasant funny data too.

    Comment by new games by bethesda — October 4, 2014 @ 8:46 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

