Denise Day Spencer

January 29, 2006

How it all begins

Filed under: Creative Ministries — denisedayspencer @ 1:44 am

I hope to eventually be able to use this site as a place to share ideas and resources for creative ministries, particularly drama. One of my main loves is writing biblical skits and plays. My particular niche within that area has become taking a scripture story and–while trying to remain true to what’s there–reading between the lines to look for what’s not there and then filling in (as Paul Harvey would say) “the rest of the story.”

Sometimes I’m inspired by something I hear in a sermon or a Bible study. Other times my own reading prompts me to think or ask questions. One way or another, it’s usually the scriptures themselves that get my mind going. Here’s how:

The other day I was reading Hebrews in my quiet time. I got to the well-known chapter 11. In the New King James verse 11 says, “By faith Sarah herself also received strength to conceive seed, and she bore a child when she was past the age, because she judged him faithful who had promised.” (Not all translations mention Sarah here, but for the sake of argument let’s stick with the NKJ for now.)

Wait a minute. Sarah conceived because she had faith? Let’s see…is that found in Genesis 16 when–after Abraham has been promised a son–Sarah tells him to lie with her maidservant, Hagar, to try to have children through her? Or maybe it’s in chapter 18 when Sarah laughs at the prediction that she will bear a son in her old age…and is apparently chided by God for her lack of faith.

I’ve looked, and I’m having a hard time finding in the original story the faith on Sarah’s part that is spoken of in Hebrews.

Sounds like a good reason to write a skit.

When did Sarah’s heart soften to this idea? What took her from a scoffing stance to one of faith? Something must have been a catalyst for this change in Sarah. Was it a struggle for her, or did it happen all at once, easily?

Now to take it a step further…why did it take so long for God to come through on His promise anyway? Did He, perhaps, not allow Sarah to conceive until she had the faith to believe in what He was doing through her?

Maybe this isn’t a skit; maybe it’s a full-length play!

Sometimes the best fodder for my imagination is what isn’t in the text. As long as I do my best to be faithful to the people and doctrines presented there, I can flesh out the characters and fill in the gaps in their stories. Now that’s fun!

So…what did change Sarah’s heart? Takers, anyone?

P.S. Here’s a neat site I’ve recently discovered that offers free skit scripts. It’s cool!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

